Thermography in the classroom

 

Infrared Thermography is the process of acquisition and analysis of thermal information from non-contact thermal imaging devices.

This week I have completed the Introduction to Thermography course as a refresher for the Cold Snaps, Warm Homes project. The course refreshed my memory on how to use the camera and also gave me some great information and tips on how to interpret the images, what to look out for and how errors can occur. I have also learnt how different materials emit heat in different ways, this is going to be really important when surveying buildings and understanding the movement of heat.

I now feel prepared to go out to our three communities to start the thermal image surveys. It is going to be an excellent tool to see how buildings lose heat and I’m looking forward to seeing the results!

 

Martha Holmes – Development Officer

Leave a comment